Minimum Energy Queries

I’ve reading further afield from my “academic home turf” (numerical graph computations for large datasets).  The present excursion is to probabilistic databases.  I’ve never understood their use!  It always seemed like a bunch of complexity for little realistic benefit.  I’m still not convinced, but I’ll keep reading — that field has many elegant abstractions.

In the course of my reading, I came across a clever paper:

Exploiting Correlated Attributes in Acquisitional Query Processing by Amol Deshpande, Carlos Guestrin, Wei Hong, and Samuel Madden.

Suppose we query a set of low-power sensors to gather data about a set of circumstances. The example from the paper is that we want to collect data when it’s dark outside (< 100 lux) but still warm (> 20C).  If taking a measurement of either light or temperature costs 1 unit of power (i.e. 2 units to check both), then its silly to check temperature during “daylight” hours (6am to 6pm) until we’ve checked if it’s dark enough outside.  Likewise, at night, it’s silly to check light until we’ve checked the temperature.  The goal is to construct simple rules to optimize “query” execution in these acquisitional environments.  I didn’t bother reading the rest of the paper, but that example was just so clever!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Minimum Energy Queries

  1. Peter says:

    Hi David,
    I came across your PhD thesis. It’s so beautiful !!
    I’m writing my thesis now, would be glad if you could give me any pointer to the packages you used (fonts, headings, etc)
    or better, maybe you could share your latex template.
    Thanks .

    • dgleich says:

      Peter, I used classicthesis and tufte-latex. I’ve been trying to get something like a package out for a while, but it’s time consuming to document all the little things to make everything work. The font is Adobe Minion Pro and GillSans for sans-serif. With some hindsight, I think the standard helvetica looks better than gillsans in this combo. I’d start with classicthesis and I can send you the code to get tufte-style sidenotes vs. footnotes if you’d like. I managed to get that part extracted.

  2. Peter says:

    Okay, I’ll start to play around with those packages, thanks for the pointer, and yeah.. I’d be glad if you could send me the code for sidenotes & footnotes.

  3. Rodrigo Teixeira Pinto says:

    Dear David or Peter,

    would it be possible to obtain from you the code for the sidenotes & footnotes?

    Thanks in advance.

  4. nicole says:

    I would also be really happy to see your code for the sidenotes and footnotes into the classic thesis…

Leave a Reply

