Problems with GNU screen in Ubuntu 10.04 (lucid)

I just upgraded my machine from ubuntu 9.04 to 10.04.  I left some thingsrunning over night in gnu screen.  When I looked at it in the morning, I realized that my connected had dropped overnight because it was idle.This didn’t used to happen with screen since it had an updating clock.When I relaunched it, there was no updating clock left!  In fact, allthe fancy stuff in screen was gone!  Gone!

Where it did go?  Well, try 1: google.  Google showed thatscreen-profiles should contain all the fancy stuff for screen.That was already installed, so I tried removing it and reinstanlling it.

Checking into my screen profile showed it was setup to a broken symlink:

/usr/share/screen-profiles/screen/ubuntu-dark

The target file above didn’t exist anymore.  I couldn’t find any reference to it.

After scratching my head for a while, I came across this link:

http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid-updates/byobu

So I thought, huh, they renamed screen-profiles to byobu in lucid.  Okay.  Let’s get that package now too.

Except it was already installed.  Then I just searched for byobu and realized that it was the replacement for GNU screen with all the fancy stuff!

$ byobu

And I had my pretty screen back!  Yay!

This also fixes the broken symlink to screen profile, so you can use screen again too.  I’m not sure what the difference is now.

Checking out byobu, it is just a wrapper script that calls screen.  So you really should use byobu if you want the fancy screen.  Or I’ll probably just alias screen to byobu.

This was silly move, why remove the functionality in screen?

Short synopsis, if you have problems with screen after updating to Ubuntu 10.04 (lucid lynx), then just run byobu.It looks like screen, and it’ll fix your broken symlink to the screen profile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Problems with GNU screen in Ubuntu 10.04 (lucid)

  1. pete says:

    Thanks for sharing! I wasted an hour wondering what I had messed up during a server upgrade.

Leave a Reply

